Honors Day spotlights excellence

April 28, 2017

The college recognized outstanding faculty members and students during its annual Honor’s Day program April 28. Those acknowledged were: Faculty awards
  • John R. Hines Jr. Undergraduate Research Faculty Award – Dr. Toni Anderson
  • General Board of Higher Education and Ministry Exemplary Teacher Award – Dr. Stacey Ernstberger
  • Vulcan Teaching Excellence Award – Dr. Alicia Campbell
John R. Hines Jr. Undergraduate Research
  • Undergraduate Research Award in Basic Research – Lexi Hall, Jake Odom and Carson Powell; “Effect of Malathion on Bacterial Ingestion in Caenorhabditis Elegans;” faculty sponsor, Dr. Melinda Pomeroy-Black, Biology
  • Undergraduate Research Award in Applied Research (tie) – Luke Norman, “Coefficient of Static and Dynamic Friction in Wide Receiver Gloves,” faculty sponsor, Chris Baily, exercise science; and Wesley Dismuke, “Capital Punishment in the United States: Analyzing Deterrence and Cost-Effectiveness of the Death Penalty in the United States,” faculty sponsor, Dr. John Tures, Political Science
  • Undergraduate Research Award in Religious, Historical, and Literary Analysis – Daniel Garrett, “State-Led Settlement: A Case Study of the Georgia Land Lotteries,” faculty advisor, Dr. Joshua Van Lieu, History
  • Undergraduate Research Award in Performance and Creative Projects – Lizzy Clements, her original musical, “Notes to My College Self;” faculty sponsor, Kim Barber Knoll, Theatre Arts
  • Needham Avery Award – Meghan Lacey
  • Jamie Bishop Award – Hana Henry
  • Josephine A. Case Scholarship – Jessica Morgan
  • William and Elezida Hope Art History Award – Meghan Lacey
  • Annie Moore Smith Purchase Award – Jill Cook
  • Lee Wilson Award in Photography – Kristi Sammons
  • Jean Young Award – Tylor Hepnor
  • Hurd Award – Jacob Lovin
  • Shibley-Hicks Scholarships (biology, chemistry, biochemistry majors) – Elijah Adedoyin, Cassie Bates, Jacob Fussell, Lexi Hall, Brook Hutchins, Megan Lennon, Jacob Odom, Carson Powell, Braden Shealy, Taylor Vardeman, William (Trey) Ward, Davida White and Savannah Williams
Business and Accountancy
  • GSCPA Outstanding Senior in Accountancy – Adam William Terrinoni
  • Zachary Taylor Jr. Award for Overall Outstanding Student – Kyra Ashley Odum
  • Jenny Hampton Award for Outstanding Student in Business Administration (Evening award) – Zachary Cole Kemp
  • ACBSP Leadership Award – Channing Quade Brand
  • Nonprofit Leadership Award – Lauren Taylor Ventors
  • Distinguished Alumni Award – Joseph Frye
  • Walter Malcom Shackelford Award for Excellence in Education – Austin Buchanan and Emily Arnold
  • Freshman Essay Award – Kirstie Neal and Landon Hicks
  • Frances Marion Chalker Medlock ’53 Prize for Poetry – Michael Garner
  • Murial B. Williams Award for Excellence in Literary Studies – Emily Webb
  • The Walter D. Jones Award for Excellence in Composition & Scholarship – Sadie Gibson
  • Outstanding Writing Center Peer Consultant Award – Emily Webb
Exercise Science
  • Outstanding Junior – Kaitlin Lovins
  • Outstanding Senior – Paige Smyth
  • Kathryn Stephens Outstanding Transfer Award – Jennifer Kreulen
  • Julius Wolff Transformation Award – Luke Norman
  • Kate Howard Cross scholarship – Blake Konans
  • Sue Kafrouni award, senior graduating with the highest cumulative GPA – Daniel Garrett
  • Phi Alpha Theta Leadership Award, for exemplary leadership within the department and the Alpha Delta Mu chapter of Phi Alpha Theta – Daniel Garrett
  • Frederick V. Mills Jr. Award, best original research project of the year – Daniel Garrett
  • Verdie Miller Award (given to the outstanding math graduate) – Justin Fetner
  • Most Outstanding First-Year Calculus Student Award – Matthew Evans
  • George E. Morrison Award – Anna Courtney
  • Pat Callaway Vocal Excellence Award – Elyse Barnett
  • Martha Estes Achievement Award – Savannah Bracewell and Tré Campbell
Political Science
  • Tracy Lightcap Award – Sydney Aronson, Katie Chancellor, Wesley Dismuke and Daniel Garrett
Psychological Science
  • Outstanding Achievement in Psychology – Alison Jiles
  • Buford Jennette Johnson Psychology Research Award – Justin Yestrumsky
  • Psychology Teaching Award – Ashley Jacobson
  • Junior Clinical – Tiffany Downing
  • Junior Academic – Kaitlin Smith
  • Meri Meriwether Norris Caring Award to senior – Sydney Garmany
  • Guptil Scholarship, Estelle Jones Culpepper Scholarship – Maiah Britton
  • Blankenhorn Scholarship – Kaitlyn Dino
  • Estelle Jones Culpepper Scholarship – Danielle Doverspike
  • Greenville United Methodist Church Mary Hunter Lindsey Scholarship – John Dale Geifing
  • Pike Scholarship – Phillip McMillan
  • Jane Ellen Speers Scholarship, Louise McCook Scholarship, C. Lavern Mobley Scholarship, Phillip and Leo Still Scholarship – Garrett Wallace
  • Theta Alpha Kappa Award – Asti White
  • Naglee Award – Cortney Head
  • Jack Buchanan Scholarship – Chris Smith
  • George Herbert Mead Award – Amy Webb
  • Jane Addams Award – Marnequea Jennings
  • Outstanding Senior – Marnequea Jennings
Theatre Arts
  • Maxie C. “Doc” Scholarship – Justin Bowen
  • Mamie Lark Henry Drama Scholarship – Eli Grant
  • Hearnburg Endowed Theatre Achievement Scholarship – Kelsey Seals
  • Kendall Eugene Morris Scholarship – Caleb Brown
  • Nell Tidwell Rollins Theatre and English Scholarship – Sadie Gibson
  • Jane and Raymond Barber Theatre Scholarship – Elyse Barnett
  • Carolyn Bernard Becker Scholarship – Abigail Young
  • Hortense Hughes Moore Scholarship – Leigh Anne Hamlin

News Desk

@ LaGrange - Your weekly update
from LaGrange College

Columns Magazine


Master Calendar
Faculty/Staff Directory
Request an Expert

Social Media



Subscription form

For more information contact:
Media Relations
Communications & Marketing
601 Broad St.
LaGrange, Ga. 30240